In recognition of Veteran’s Day, The Redford Theatre presents Francis Ford Coppola’s Apocalypse Now (1979) Friday, November 10

Posted by
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

 

In recognition of Veteran’s Day, The Redford Theatre presents Francis Ford Coppola’s Apocalypse Now (1979) Friday, November 10

With Veterans Day on the horizon, the Redford Theatre proudly presents a pinnacle of American war cinema: Apocalypse Now, the 1979 American epic war film produced and directed by Francis Ford Coppola.

The film follows a river journey from South Vietnam into Cambodia undertaken by Captain Willard (Martin Sheen), who is on a secret mission to assassinate Colonel Kurtz (Marlon Brando), a renegade Special Forces officer who is accused of murder and presumed insane. The ensemble cast also features Robert Duvall, Frederic Forrest, Albert Hall, Sam Bottoms, Laurence Fishburne, Harrison Ford, and Dennis Hopper.

The film is epic in many ways, including its length of 3 hours, so please note its early starting time on Friday, November 10—7 p.m. Also note that the film is rated R for strong and disturbing war violence, language throughout, some drug use, and graphic nudity.

Here’s a preview:

Despite all sorts of difficulties, it’s generally believed that Coppola somehow managed to make the greatest Vietnam War movie of all time. He was so determined to make the movie that he mortgaged his house and his winery in Napa Valley to help fund the production.

The arduous shoot in the Philippines took such a toll on Coppola that he lost 100 pounds before filming wrapped. He shot nearly 200 hours of footage, and it took him almost three years to edit it. (You can catch him in a cameo role as the director of a TV crew.) The total length of film printed for the movie was approximately 1,250,000 feet, about 230 hours of footage. Principal photography ended on May 21, 1977, after 238 days of filming. Shooting, originally scheduled for six weeks, took 16 months.

Don’t miss this rare opportunity to see the epic Apocalypse Now on Redford’s big screen. Remember, it’s one show only, starting at 7 p.m. on Friday, November 10. Of course, you still have the opportunity to arrive 30 minutes early to be entertained by the Organ Overture provided by our historic Barton Theatre Pipe Organ.

https://redfordtheatre.com/events/apocalypse-now-1979/

For more information about upcoming events, see the Redford Theatre Facebook Page (https://redfordtheatre.us1.list-manage.com/track/click?u=ab1421b61cc0483090e2d6131&id=d93c518f4a&e=cc65f9d9de) .

** Coming Soon
————————————————————

November 10: Apocalypse Now (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/apocalypse-now-1979/) (R) (1979)
————————————————————
November 11 (Matinee): The Best Years of Our Lives (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/the-best-years-of-our-lives-1946/) (NR) (1946)
————————————————————
November 11 (Evening): Mrs. Miniver (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/mrs-miniver-1942/) (NR) (1942)
————————————————————
November 17: Addams Family Values (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/addams-family-values-1993/) (PG) (1993)
————————————————————
Classic Cartoon Festival
With Animation Expert Steve Stanchfield

November 18 (Matinee): A Cartoon Cavalcade for Kids (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/classic-cartoon-festival-2/)

November 18 (Evening): Fleischer Studio Madness! (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/classic-cartoon-festival-fleischer-studio-madness/)
————————————————————
December 1: Gremlins (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/gremlins-1984/) (PG) (1984)
————————————————————
December 2 (Matinee): Meet Me in St. Louis (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/meet-me-in-st-louis-1944/) (NR) (1944)
————————————————————
December 2 (Evening): National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/national-lampoons-christmas-vacation-4/) (PG-13) (1989)
————————————————————
December 8-9: White Christmas (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/white-christmas-3/) (NR) (1954)
————————————————————
December 9 (Matinee): The Polar Express (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/the-polar-express/) (G) (2004) (35mm)
————————————————————
December 10: Holiday Mystery Movie (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/holiday-mystery-movie/)
————————————————————
December 13: Candlelight Concert—Featuring Tchaikovsky and More (https://redfordtheatre.us1.list-manage.com/track/click?u=ab1421b61cc0483090e2d6131&id=08543d3c86&e=cc65f9d9de)
————————————————————
December 15-16: It’s a Wonderful Life (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/its-a-wonderful-life-6/) (NR) (1946)
————————————————————
December 17: Christmas Concert with Organist John Lauter and Swing City Big Band (https://redfordtheatre.com/events/redford-theatre-christmas-show/)
The movies shown at the Redford Theatre often reflect the time period when they were produced. They do not necessarily represent the views of the Motor City Theatre Organ Society.
DONATE (https://redfordtheatre.com/donate/)
Redford Theatre Volunteers Needed

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.