Announcing the 59th Ann Arbor Film Festival Award Winners

Posted by

The Ann Arbor Film Festival has announced this year’s award-winning filmmakers selected by jurors Thorsten Fleisch, Lynn Loo, and Sheri Wills.   This year they have added two new awards, the Barbara Hammer Feminist Film Award and the Best Experimental Animation Award!

The 2021 awards competition presents $22,500 to filmmakers through mostly cash and some in-kind awards such as film stock, film processing, and camera equipment.

An award from the AAFF confers prestige and financial support; it can also qualify filmmakers for an Oscar® nomination by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in the short film category. Qualifying awards are the Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival, the Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film, and the Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film.

Watch two programs of the award winners today.

These are the award-winners for the 59th AAFF:

Ken Burns for Best of the Festival

13 – Shinya Isobe

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker

Iwianch, el Diablo Venado – José Cardoso

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film 

Sun Dog – Dorian Jespers

Best Experimental Film 

Revolykus – Victor Orozco Ramirez

Kodak Cinematic Vision Award 

Mt Albban the attrition of time – Ebrahim Mirmalek

Best Documentary Film 

Instructions for Survival – Yana Ugrekhelidze

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film 

KKUM – Kang Min Kim

Gil Omenn Art & Science Award

Mad Mieter – M+M (Marc Weis, Martin de Mattia)

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film (split)

Danni the Champion – Laura Cameron-Lewis AND Stunting Cunts – Gina Kamentsky

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for an Emerging Experimental Video Artist

-force- – Jennie MaryTai Liu, Simon Liu

The Eileen Maitland Award

Cause of Death – Jyoti Mistry

George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award

Primavera – Adrian Garcia Gomez

The No Violence Award

Just a Guy – Shoko Hara

Barbara Hammer Feminist Film Award

Silver Femme – Nico Reano, Jimena Lucero

Best Experimental Animation Award 

Displacement – Maxime Corbeil-Perron

Leon Speakers Award for Best Sound Design

Piz Regolith – Yannick Mosimann

Martin Contreras and Keith Orr \aut\ FILM Award for Best LGBTQ Film

Breath Control – Carson Parish

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film

Valpi – Richard Tuohy, Dianna Barrie

Tíos Award for Best International Film

( ( ( ( /*\ ) ) ) ) ) aka echoes of the volcano – Charles Fairbanks, Saúl Kak​

UMCU Audience Award

First Light – Amy Lee Ketchum, Ellen Boscov

Best Michigan Filmmaker Award

I Dream of Emma and Tony – Natalia Rocafuerte

Jurors’ Awards

BUTTERFLY BIRTH BED – Virginia Lee Montgomery

Circular – Páraic Mc Gloughlin

Daily Life of Human – Siavash Naghshbandi

Ici – Sylvie Denet

Just a Movement – Vincent Meessen

Night Reflection (IV) – Benjamín Ellenberger

One Image, Two Acts – Sanaz Sohrabi

Queen of Dots – Michael Lyons

Reminiscences of 15 musicians in Beirut attempting a re-imagination of the Egyptian classic Ya Garat Al Wadi – Charles-André Coderre

Self Portrait With Bag – Dianna Barrie

Ser Feliz No Vão / Happy In The Gap – Lucas H. Rossi dos Santos

uchronia, no.1 – Kamila Kuc

For more information

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.