7th Annual Eclipse Awards nominees announced

Posted by
Print Friendly, PDF & Email


The nominees for this year’s Eclipse Awards were announced in a live stream on Facebook LIVE and on WKTV, Monday,  April 2nd, 2018.   Announcing the nominees were local personalities Jessie Hollett and Aaron Noble.

Each year the Eclipse Awards recognizes Michigan filmmakers in a number of different categories.  These categories include Cinema Trailer, Documentary, and Narrative Short. There are also craft categories awarded for expertise in creating a film, such as Acting, Directing and Original Score, among others.

After an intense screening process, judges from across the country narrow the field down to the nominees.

The quality of the work submitted continues to be top-notch, proving that the Michigan production community continues to develop and retain incredible talent and skill.

Nominees and their guests may attend the Certification Reception Monday, April 30.  Winners will be announced at the Excellence in Craft Eclipse Awards Presentation LIVE, Thursday, May 3, from The Ballroom at McKay Tower in downtown Grand Rapids.

The Eclipse Awards show also will be streamed live at theeclipseaward.com. WKTV News will be providing complete coverage of the entire event.

This year’s nominees include in various categories:


Documentary Feature

Co-Operatively Yours — Kristin Ojaniemi, Jim Kurtti, producers
Newcomer Legacy: A Vietnamese-American Story — Alan Headbloom, producer

Music Video

Nottingham — Jacob de la Rosa, Kathryn Postema, Joshua E. White, producers

Never One Thing — John Hanson. May Erlewine, DJ Viernes, producers
Small Town — Zachary Clark, Nick Turske, Andy Westra, producers
Flight School: Don’t Know — Chris Mac, producer

Narrative Feature

Into A Dark Mind — Harley Wallen, producer
Moving Parts — Harley Wallen, producer
Return of the Scarecrow — Adam Mikrut, Walt Lodes III, producers
Kid Brother — Bryce Cameron producer
The Incantation — Dan Campbell, producer
Thaw of the Dead — David Marek, Matthew Von Dayton, producers

Narrative Short

Model No. Human — Harper Shecter, producer
Mino Bimaadiziwin — Carese Bartlett, producer
Drilling Dad — Jeff Vega, producer
Frankie — Josh Martin, producer
Four-Ninety — Scott Magie, producer
The House on Oak Street — Kyle Misak, Don Chase, Jesse Charles, producers
Deadbolt — Michael McCallum, William C. McCallum, Patric J. Arnold producers

Promotional segment in television or online

Challenge Day 2017 — Caleb Carson, producer
Memphis the Musical — Angela Peavey, producer
Benjamin’s Hope – Welcome Home — Eric Schrotenboer, Sara Hogan, producers

Television and online Programming (30 min)

Mind Games – Tea & Sympathy — Jeff Vega, producer
The Michigan Experience: Vietnam Veterans — Rodney Brown, William Redwine, producers
Verify — Eric Schrotenboer, David Bailey, Emma Nicolas, producers
The Chaplain — Rhodes Short, Heather Fairbanks, producers

Cinema Trailer

Death Island Paranormal retribution — Chris Penney, producer

Documentary Short

Stories of Us — Angela Peavey, producer
Ten Years Later — Nathan Roels, producer
Everything Happens Somewhere-Joppa — Eric Schrotenboer, producer

The Crafts

Acting in a Supporting Role

Amanda Buhs — Dylan
Peter Herold — Kid Brother
Dean Cain — The Incantation
Michael McCallum — Deadbolt
Johnny DeMarco — Deadbolt
Brie Roper — Deadbolt
Matthew Dennis — White Hair
Rico Bruce Wade — Four-Ninety
Michael Gordon — Finding Home
Heather Fairbanks — Thaw of the Dead

Screenplay Feature Length

Bryce Cameron, Devin Cameron — Kid Brother
Ryan Webber, Brett Christiansen — Finding Home

Screenplay Short Subject

Scott Magie — Four-Ninety
Kyle Misak, Jesse Charles, Don Chase — The House on Oak Street
Justin Muschong — Deadbolt

Direction in Narrative Short

Kyle Macciomei — Closeted Hemispheres
Shane McSauby — Mino Bimaadiziwin
Nabil Nona — Consequences
Josh Martin — Frankie
Scott Magie — Four-Ninety
Kyle Misak — The House on Oak Street
Michael McCallum — Deadbolt

Cinematography in Documentary

Angela Peavey — Stories of Us
DT Kofoed — REACH Teen Open Studio 2016 Spring Mural Project


Garrett Bleshenski — Clearing the Smoke
Josh Reed — DoseDr

Sound Design

Adam Mikrut — Return of the Scarecrow
Roy Wallace — Frankie
Andre Bottesi — Four-Ninety
Roy Wallace — Deadbolt

Direction in Narrative Feature

Devin Cameron — Kid Brother
Jude S. Walko — The Incantation
Ryan Webber, Brett Christiansen — Finding Home

Original Score

Gregory De Iulio — The House on Oak Street
Eric Schrotenboer — Cultures in Conflict

Acting in Lead Role

Rhodes Short — The Chaplain
Michael McCallum — Angela
Jimmy Doom — Four-Ninety
Michael Empson — Finding Home
Elizabeth Moore — Deadbolt
Brad Stocker — Deadbolt

Cinematography in Narrative Feature

Derek Street — The Incantation
Matthew Von Dayton — Thaw of the Dead

Cinematography in Narrative Short

Dane Covey — Frankie
Travis Hayward — Four-Ninety
Erin Hughes — The House on Oak Street
Andrew K. Tebeau — Deadbolt
Dane Covey — Small Town

Editing in Narrative

Kyle Misak — The House on Oak Street
Scott Baisden, Michael McCallum — Deadbolt
David Marek — Thaw of the Dead

The 2018 Hyperion Award — Mark Adler  The Hyperion Award acknowledges the contributions of unique individuals who maintain high standards in their craft while inspiring others to do so as well. At the same time, that individual works to expand the opportunities that benefit the entire creative and production community.

The annual Eclipse Awards are made possible by Sony, Key Code Media, Ferris State University, Compass College of Cinematic Arts and WKTV Digital Cinema. The Eclipse Awards seek to elevate content creators throughout Michigan by honoring their works through regional, national and international voting on entered works in film, television and on-line production. The Eclipse Award is given for story telling and production excellence in the production community.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.